Is it better to complete a professional Masters or a thesis based program?

nrobins

Hi all,

I am currently a Registered Nurse working in Alberta, Canada. I am planning to apply for MPH for Fall 2017, with the intention of focusing in promotion and behavioural sciences. My area of interest is in child and adolescent mental health promotion. In particular, I am interested in promoting the development of emotional and social awareness, regulation and skills in children. I am also interested in nature based experiences in relation to mental health promotion. I would like to go into program development upon graduation, and potentially policy work as well. 

I was initially planning on a professional, practicum based program, however it has been suggested to me by some connections that I consider a thesis based MPH or Master of Health Sciences program instead. I am not currently intending to pursue a PhD, but am not against the idea either. Any opinions on the pros or cons around these options, and which would be most suited for my goals would be much appreciated!

Currently I am considering UVic, UBC, U of A and Waterloo as my first choices for schools.

Thanks

• 2 months later...

I was in a professional masters program (MPPA) that happened to be thesis based.  I am currently in a PhD program in a similar field which required everyone who entered already have a masters of one sort or another.  I can tell you that the thesis better prepares you for a PhD program if you decide to do it later.  Non-thesis masters are fine, but the students I have met who had professional-non-thesis-masters are struggling in the quantitative and qualitative analysis coursework.

If you have no intention of going into a PhD program, then a non-thesis professional masters may be right for you.  It won't shut the door on a PhD, but it will make it easier if you decide to go.