"Personal History/Trajectory" in the SoP

Hey there,

I just finished the draft of my SoP for the 2017 round. I'm now a mathematician, but I used to study engineering (at the same time) and eventually dropped it and decided to focus on math  - for this reason, it seemed to me that I should include a couple of paragraphs to talk about my trajectory and mention how this happened. Will this just bore the reader and is unecessary since they have my CV, and thus I should remove it altogether and just add more research stuff? Or do you think that would be relevant information?  Here are the "offending" bits, which open the text:

"Part of the joy of mathematics is to think about unusual things in unusual ways - this aspect of the field drew me into the field in middle school, due to the timely intervention of particularly passionate teachers, who managed to not only show the beauty of mathematics but, critically, why it was beautiful. However entranced, my path was still unclear up to my undergraduate days - I started as an engineering student due to family desires and took extra mathematics courses on the side, with the intention of eventually graduating in both degrees. Managing both degrees simultaneously was my first major challenge, but my experience in Engineering allowed me to develop teamwork skills and others that aren’t as emphasized in a math degree. It was undeniable, however, that I was much more motivated by mathematics, which led to the decision of fully dedicating myself to it.