MPP out of undergrad

ym3237

I recently decided I would like to pursue an mpp, but since I'm new to the process I'm still pretty clueless on some of the traits that these programs look for. For me, the most concerning thing is the work experience aspect. I have volunteer work during undergrad and full time work during my time as an undergrad, but nothing pertaining to policy. A lot of the work was with campus organizations or in law offices since law school was the original plan. I'm an econ major with a 3.87 GPA, my GRE was 167Q, 168V, and 5W. Do these numbers still make me competitive for programs like UCLA or is the lack of work experience a total killer for my chances? 

Don't think you'll have a problem as long as your SOP is coherent and exudes maturity, as well as strong LORs. Straight through people are expected to have top marks which you obviously do, so the biggest hurdle is done I would say.

Edited by MD guy

For those straight out of undergrad, top programs will want great academic credentials (which you seem to have) and work experience deemed relatively excellent for someone coming straight out of undergrad. You say you did some volunteer work; did that include formal internships? If not, I think you would be hard pressed to gain admittance to some top programs. UCLA may not be one of those schools that cares more about work experience, though, so it's also possible you have a great shot there. It would help for you to look at their website and see if you can figure out what percent of their incoming classes tend to be straight out of undergrad.

6 hours ago, Ben414 said: