Tips for maximizing my month of studying! Verbal intensive

evelynne

Hello! :)

My dream program is PhD in Art History, so I need to take GRE with strong verbal scores. I'm not sure how important is math for them, but I don't want an embarassing score from it either ;)

English is not my first language, so I struggle with verbal a bit. I seem to be pretty OK with Reading Comperehension, but the "fill in" sentences are difficult for me. I studied quite a lot for about a month, then took a month break/less intense study (new job, summer...) and I've been studying intensively for the last 2 weeks. 

My test date is October 15th, but I also signed up for November 10th date in case I need to re-take and improve my scores. I might cancel it if I do well on the first test.

I read awesome motivational posts on this forum, about people who studied hard and got 170 scores :)

My intended goal is around 165 for verbal and ideally 160+ for math. I took a practice test yesteday and scored 154 verbal 154 quant, but I did it after the whole day of work and at night, so my brain was not working that great. Do you have any tips and strategies for me, how could I maximize my performance during the month of study until Oct 15th (and possibly another month until November 10)? Especially to improve verbal scores? I know that I need to review basic math for quant and hopefully that'll help, but I have no clue how to get better in verbal.

I'm using:

-Magoosh videos, questions and flashcards (I got 30day subscription until the end of September. I am not sure yet if I want to extend it to 6month subscription to have Magoosh until my second test's date...what do you think?)

-Manhattan verbal textbooks

-ETS Official Guide

-ETS Verbal Questions Book

Do you recommend using ETS essay grading software for 20$, or is it not worth it?

THANK YOU!

Hi Evelynne,