Apply to programs or wait it out (Seeking Advice)

psyched_trojan2015

Hey everyone!

It's time to take the next steps in my journey of going into social work. I graduated from university recently in 2015, where I worked as a tech for a private substance abuse detox facility for about 5 months. I liked the job, but I worked awful hours that interfered with my schedule. Just recently in May, I got a position as a Case Manager, where I've been at for about 4 months now. I work with homeless individuals at a recup center, connecting them primarily with housing resources. 

Here's the deal. I've been getting burnt out due to the nature of my work experiences. I've worked part-time/full-time at residential treatment centers all throughout undergrad. I've already felt burnt out all throughout undergrad and never got a vacation or got to travel anywhere to celebrate. I regret not taking the decision to study abroad as an undergrad. Anyway, I plan to stay with the recup center job for a year, before taking a month vacation. By then, I'll have a new position waiting for me once I return, so I feel secure knowing that I have a safety net.

But my question is: should I wait it out a little longer, gain more work experience, grow up a little more before applying? Or, should I just go for it and apply for Fall 2017 admissions? I'm torn because of my GPA senior year. My overall grades are not bad (3.43), but it fluctuates; freshmen year averaged at 3.73, sophomore year 3.50, junior year 3.93, senior year 2.86. I struggled with grades because I was experiencing a lot of ups and downs. The breakdowns became recurrent until I sought for help and got my life back together. Because of this drastic fluctuation in GPA, I was thinking of working for awhile in the "real world," for about 3-5 years before going to grad school. What's the rush, right?