Preparation for future application?

ACZOMI

Hello everyone,

I am currently a sophomore at a top70 U. I have been interested in social sciences since high school and recently I am thinking about if I should apply to graduate school. I read many posts on gradcafe and other forums and realized that the Ph.D application is not as simple as I thought. So I think it's better to do a brief introduction to myself and I would really appreciate any suggestions!!

[My Profile]

(1)Undergrad in a top 70 University, honors student. I don't think my university has a famous undergraduate program, but the graduate school is great.

(2)Majors: Sociology,Mathematics, Statistics. Overall GPA:3.88, with almost every A-F credit belongs to upper division; 

(3)GRE:V153,Q170,AW4.0. (I am a non-native student and I did not do much preparation before this test. I will undoubtedly retake it in the future.)

(4)Beginning a directed research this semester.

[My Shortcomings and Confusions]

(1)Alma Mater. Not a really prestigious school in U.S. though it is the best university within the state. SO, should I transfer to another well-ranked college to get better resources/chances?

(2)Research Interests. Sometimes I feel really nervous if someone (especially Professors) ask about my research interests. I have read many soc papers and books outside the classroom. I feel like so many topics in the sociology is interesting. What I enjoy most is the explanation of  a social phenomena/structure, especially from a new perspective or applying a new idea. But I really don't know what is the topic I am particularly interested in. If possible, can I have your experiences about finding your research interests?