Take the GRE for the third time?

Kabir77

Hello,

So I need some advice. Last year I applied to Phd programs, and did not get in any of the schools I applied to. I fully admit that I made a lot of mistakes while applying, including not using the best personal statement. I also had a low GRE score(301). So, this past summer I studied even harder to take the GRE again(I studied hard the first time around as well, but I studied harder the second time). I retook the GRE on Sept 28, and got the exact same score, the only difference being that I got one point higher on Math, and one point lower on my verbal. I also got a 4.0 instead of a 4.5 on my AWA. To say I was crushed is an understatement. I currently have a masters degree from a good university in the U.S.A(I am from the USA for what its worth), and I had a high GPA. I feel like I have proven that I am more than capable of doing well in graduate school, and yet I can't seem to do better on the GRE. After I was done sulking, I started redoing my personal statement, and I have a professor that is going to look it over(something I did not do last year). I am the only person in my family to ever graduate high school, let alone go to college, and so at times it is hard to navigate this world. I decided that for the next two weeks my written work is getting my focus, and then I will retake the GRE, but my question is if I should. Truthfully, I studied daily for this exam, and I felt like I was at a place where I would do better, and yet I didn't. I am really overwhelmed and disheartened, and do not know what the best course of action is at this point. 

Any advice would be appreciated,

-Kabir

Hi Kabir,

Before I can offer you the specific advice that you're looking for, I'd like to know a bit more about how you studied and your goals:

1) What were your exact scores on your 2 GREs (including the score breakdowns for each section)?

2) How long did you study for each attempt? What study materials did you use?