Offered a Post-Doctoral Fellowship in my first year

holi10

Hi everyone,

I am writing because I am a first year graduate student in a Masters program and was offered a Post-Doctoral Fellowship and I am just curious as to know what that actually means and if that is offered to everyone in the program? If anyone has any knowledge about this, please let me know. 

Thanks

Maybe more details would be necessary? In North America, a post-doctoral fellowship is a position that pays for research work done by someone with a PhD (hence "post-doctorate"). So, it sounds a little odd to have this offered to you when you are not even in a PhD program yet.  Most postdoctoral fellowships require you to have completed your PhD before you can start, but they may be offered to a graduate student who is about to finish.

If this offer is coming from a Canadian school or a UK school and the wording is actually "post-graduate" instead of "post-doctoral", then I think it is a fellowship/award for graduate studies. In Canada and the UK, "postgraduate" means Masters and PhD students (post-graduate means past your graduation from your Bachelors degree). 

I also have found myself confused on the offer. I am a first year Masters student and I did indicate wanting to go through to the PhD program. Once I accepted my initial offer with them they then came back with a postdoctoral fellowship offer and stated that I would receive the funding for when I finish and would be relieved from teaching responsibilities to just focus on research for a year. 

I think it is really interesting and I don't want to discuss it with my colleagues because I think it is a personal situation. 

This seems odd but I think we can help you if you provide more details.

1) Who is offering you this? What are they offering exactly? You say "Once I accepted my initial offer with them they then came back with a postdoctoral offer". Who is "them"? Your current program? They came "back"? Where?