Applications- Try it or not

Hi everyone, 

I took CSD courses in undergrad and overall had a low GPA (3.04) and did not apply to grad school since I figured I would not get in. I had 4 C's in the major (not the best, I know, I had a lot of personal issues going on). I did not take the GRE yet. Instead I got my masters in ABA. I got all A's (4.0 GPA), and combined my GPA has risen to 3.2. In addition to being a BCBA, I would love to have get my SLP degree since both go so well together. I took the accelerated program for ABA and finished within the year rather then two, so instead of having a gap year I got a masters in ABA. 

1. Should I apply for SLP school?

2. If yes, where do you think some programs may accept me? I'm willing to relocate and travel

1.  Only if you can score really high on the GRE.  I know there are a lot of eternal optimists on this page that will tell people to reach for their dream etc etc, but give little consideration to the costs and sometimes the realistic likelihood of getting in.  It is so competitive that unless your GRE stands out and I'm talking combined 320+ to balance out the GPA.  I would say don't do it unless you are passionately wanting to pursue this.  A lot of programs will not combine your masters gpa with your bachelors so your gpa will still be a 3.04 at most schools.  Unfortunately almost all programs have a GPA cut off whether or not they publicize it...3.5 seems to be a common one.  

Go take the GRE first, see what you score, take a class to improve it (if you need to) and if you can get a really great score give it a shot.  I am not trying to crush your dream if it is to be an SLP but at the same time go into the process with all the information you can!  Good luck, hope you can kick the GRE's butt!

On 10/17/2016 at 4:54 PM, CBG321 said: