J2 visa eligibility

Hi everyone,

I am a European student currently enrolled at a UK institution. I will be applying for graduate school in the U.S. after having spent 3 months as a J1 scholar there last summer. I got engaged last week and I am planning to move with my fiance, we will get married in June. I've already had some of my questions answered by the consulate however a few remain open.

1. How can I make sure that the university will allow me to get a J1 visa instead of a F1? Because if I get F1 my partner will not be able to work at all.

2. My partner has a non-violent, not drug related, criminal conviction. I could not find any information on eligibility for J2 visas in such cases. Does anyone have any experience with J2 visas and criminal conviction, and whether it could get declined?

Thanks for any helpful comments!

Hello! I had some similar concerns because I also needed to be on a J1 so that my spouse can work. Here are the answers as best as I know:

1. First, check their international student program website. At schools that support students on both F1 and J1, there will be information on students on F1 and J1 status. At schools that only support student F1, you won't find the J1 information. Note that many schools that don't support J1 students will still support J1 postdocs, researchers and professors, so ensure that you are reading the student page.

Also note that lack of J1 support info online doesn't really mean there's no J1 support. Instead, if you can't find any information, and you want to know before spending your time applying, make sure you ask the school before you apply. Ask the international student program office, not the department you are applying to.

Finally, when you do get an offer, before you accept it, confirm that you can be on J1 status.