Need Help on Robotics Phd Admissions

xusnac

Hello guys,

I need some guidance as I will be applying for Phd programs for 2017 with cool projects but low GPA and no publications.

I designed robots, worked on projects for many years. I even started to build things when I was in high school. During my undergraduate, I involved with research, worked as a research assistant at biomedical lab for two years. Then, I did a research internship at one of the finest universities in Turkey about a year. Now, I am pursuing a masters degree on mechatronics and simultaneously working as an r&d engineer at a small startup firm designing robots for handicapped people.

I am able to get at least one stellar reference letter from my professors who know me and my projects. I don’t have any publication but I have almost 2 years of research experience.

I have a crappy undergrad GPA, 2.70, with no good reason; and my masters GPA is 3.21. I have worked full time while pursuing masters, thats the explanation of 3.21. My GRE score will probably get around 320 - and my TOEFL score will be in 99-105 range)

Do you think I have shot at these universities:

• Worcester Polytechnic Institute

• Oregon State University

• San Diego State University (has joint doctoral programs with UCSD - I have no idea how hard is it to get admitted)

• University of Connecticut

These universities have awesome research topics that I want to work on them.

I might be able to add 2 or more universities to my list.

I don't think anyone here (or anywhere) can tell you for sure if you're gonna be accepted to any program. Admission is conditional on a bunch of things, e.g., if the university has just hired a prof who's now actively expanding his group, you have significantly more chances.