HESA 2017

selkeylandrel

Hi! I am in the process of applying.  I'm applying to UConn, UMD, James Madison, George Washington, and Central Connecticut State. I wanted a program that is counseling based and where there is an opportunity for an assistantship/internship in either career services, study abroad, or disability services. Where are you all considering? Very curious!

• 3 weeks later...
17 hours ago, MAC2809 said:

Hi Lauren,

is $75,000 in debt worth it?

I graduated with $60k in debt, and yes it was worth it as it got me a job making more than double what I had previously made, and it got me into my dream PhD program. But I don't have any dependents. 

• 2 weeks later...

Hello @MAC2809!

At first glance, the price does seem daunting. I almost didn't apply because I felt uncomfortable with navigating how to pay for it. Honestly I was pleasantly surprised at how much Teachers College is able to help their HPSE students financially. The college offered enough assistance that I turned down full-rides from two other schools. Below are some links to websites that you may find helpful. 

General Overview of Financial Aid Sources: http://www.tc.columbia.edu/admissions/financial-aid/financial-aid-sources/

General Database of Positions (work-study positions, assistantships, staff positions, etc.): https://careers.tc.columbia.edu/applicants/jsp/shared/frameset/Frameset.jsp?time=1480356461688

Also, there is an internship fair in the spring that you may attend if you are admitted! 

Please let me know if you have any other questions!

• 3 weeks later...

Hi!

Applied to five universities for their HESA (or equivalent-ish) programs -> University of Rochester, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Colorado State University and Michigan State University. ( Also Anglia Ruskin University in UK if you're wondering where's the fifth).