MFA Creative Nonfiction Programs

ellehk

Hi everyone,

I'm wondering if anyone can recommend creative nonfiction MFA programs (or faculty) that have a focus on reportage, as I'm told that most nonfiction MFAs focus on memoir or essays.

I'm a journalist and I have a specific book project in mind, which I envision as a blend of historical research, reportage, and memoir. I'm hoping to find programs that can help me learn the craft of creative nonfiction writing properly, with the goal of producing a book by the end of the program.

I'm told that Pitt's nonfiction MFA and NYU's MA in literary reportage could be a good fit, but I'd appreciate other suggestions to broaden the pool.

Thanks!

• 1 year later...

Hi Ellehk, 

Sorry, I just saw this; you've probably already applied to several programs by now. I can't think of many other programs you could apply to, so I'll just promote the one I'm in right now, lol. I'm a first year fiction student at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, and the school has a creative nonfiction track for interested applicants. Many of my fellow writers and I are taking Memoir and Autobiography this coming spring semester, for example.

The intensive two-year program is fully funded and flexible on what writing courses you can take, and every student completes a publishable manuscript by the end. The program also asks students to specialize in one of three secondary areas: literature, rhetoric and composition, and TESL. Based off your interests, I think you'd be interested in the rhetoric and composition area: it deals a lot with what makes for effective arguments in communications and where to draw effective research from. Bowling Green also has a local paper, a museum of Kentucky history, and a historic downtown area. I'm not sure what subject you're wanting to cover for your planned book project, but there are ways here to scratch your historical itch if needed.