Macro/mezzo social work - need advice

oshea_eastbay

Hi all,

I'm not planning to apply for MSW schools until next Fall, but I feel like I need to start making decisions soon to figure what I want to do.

I want to eventually work in a policy/administrative role, but I also enjoy working directly with people. I have a BA in International Studies with a minor in Economics and have a lot of academic preparation for policy work, but my post-graduate work experience is in more direct service roles. I had a case management position working in a transitional housing program for immigrant families for my first post-grad year, and now I work as a case manager in a prenatal program in a clinic that serves a mostly Latin American immigrant population.

After speaking with and learning about the work that LCSWs in my workplace do, I don't think I would want to do clinical social work as a career. While I enjoy working with people, the parts I enjoy most about my job are learning about different health and social programs in the county and transferring this knowledge to clients - I don't really want to do psychotherapy. I've heard the term mezzo social work thrown around but never got a good idea of what a mezzo social work job would look like - something with a combination of direct and macro practice? That seems ideal to me but I'm unsure how many of these jobs actually exist.

I also have a fairly strong stats/quant background and experience as a research assistant - I don't want to waste all that I learned in undergrad. I've thought about applying to macro MSW programs, but I'm afraid that my lack of macro work experience wouldn't make me a strong candidate. Would I still be able to get a macro/mezzo job post-MSW with a clinical track but if I pursued leadership/research opportunities? I also am afraid of missing out on learning clinical skills with a macro track that would be useful to know when evaluating programs/doing community organizing/etc.