HKS MPA2 Academic Prerequisite

Ken528

Hi, everyone.

I have a query on academic prerequisite of HKS MPA2 program. According to HKS homepage, applicants are required to have substantial graduate-level coursework similar to core MPP courses. 

Situation:

WRT this requirement, I did not take lectures in graduate schools; but, I passed the Higher Civil Services Exam, which consists of several subjects including micro/macro/international economics, and international politics, and the exam needs graduate-level understanding on each subject. As wiki says, it's really challenging exam, and my recommenders, including Former Minister of Finance of Korea, will guarantee the authority and the level of difficulty of it. Plus, I was runner-up at the moot court competition, held by Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Korea; since most participants were graduate students, I think that it would also prove my capability.

WRT working experience, I worked as a policy consultant for Myanmar government with OECD; and currently, as a deputy director at the Ministry of Finance, I developed and implemented industrial and corporate restructuring plan of Korea, including establishment of a $4bn bailout program for global largest shipbuilder. I'm wondering whether the HKS committee consider these experiences indication of graduate-level understanding on economics, international politics, and relative laws.

Question:

Does anyone know whether my case can be regarded to qualify the academic prerequisite of HKS MPA2? 

I hope to get valuable advice, opinion, or knowledge from you. Good luck to all!

Hey. I'll also be applying for this program next year (joint MBA hopefully). I'm going to eventually give them admissions a call after the admissions deadline passes to get a bit of clarity, but I would also encourage you to take a look at this site which details a bit of what they're looking for.