MPP/MA in Public Policy... So many questions...

lr0901

Sorry, but this is going to be a long post, because I am still trying myself to figure out what I want… 

About me

I am a working professional considering obtaining a MPP or MA in Public Policy. I currently work for an Ivy League+ university in a large U.S. city in the alumni relations/development office, and while I generally enjoy my job, I'm trying to figure out my longer-term plan. I really enjoy working with the faculty and reading about their work, but I often wish I was the one getting to do interesting research rather than the person who only chases funding. Even if I were to stay in the development world, I feel like I need at least a master’s degree to advance beyond a certain point at an institution of higher education, and the people in the careers that appeal to me all seem to have advanced degrees. 

What I want:

I’ve considered getting a PhD since I was an undergrad, and “professor” is the only job that ever seems to appeal to me. However, I keep holding off because I know that my chances of becoming a tenured professor are pretty slim. 

I have a background in market/consumer research, which, while not academic in nature, has given me a taste of the research lifestyle.  I’ve found that I am very curious and really enjoy doing research and writing, but that I get restless if I do research/writing all day, every day. To be happy, I need a job that also gives me interaction with other people. I am definitely an extrovert. I tutor in my free time, and I really enjoy collaborating with and helping others. I also love to do public speaking. I need to work someplace where I feel like I’m contributing to the greater good. I was miserable in the corporate world.