Studied for 5 months, performed poorly on exam

SundayMatinee

Hello all, 

So, I'm in a bit of a pickle: I am applying for graduate programs in Speech-Language Pathology for what will now be my 3rd time. In my prior 2 application seasons, I had a combination of a poor GPA (3.1 overall, 3.5 last 60, & 3.7 major)  as well as poor GRE scores. I decided that since July I would begin studying for the GRE, as it is my last possible option to increase my competitiveness as a candidate. I've gained relevant work experience, had great SOP's and LOR's but if you don't have good GRE scores/GPA, it won't get you past the first round of decisions.

My initial scores on the GRE in 2014 were 136 quantitative and 144 verbal & 3.5 AWA. I studied diligently 5-6x a week for the past few months. My practice exams via Magoosh and Manhattan prep averaged my scores around 144-154 for both sections. However, this past Saturday when I took the exam, I completely bombed the quantitative with a 135. My verbal increased to a 149, but I was disappointed I didn't at least break 150. Needless to say, I felt very disgusted since I studied for so long.

However, I decided not to give up as I still can re-take the exam before most of my program deadlines. I intend to take the test again 3 weeks from now (Dec. 13) and study more of the quantitative while still  practicing verbal here & there.