University of Toronto vs. McGill for Neuroscience Masters Programs

facelessbeauty

Hi all. I am an American student who currently attends a top 50 liberal arts institution, and is potentially interested in attending graduate school in Canada. In particular I am looking at McGill and University of Toronto. I wanted to know if anyone had more information on which would be better, both in terms of fit and reputation according to the neuroscience research they produce. I will be applying for admission in Fall 2018 (so next round) after taking a gap year to do some kind of post-bac program or working as an RA/RT.

McGill is interesting to me because it actually has a Psychiatry masters program where you can do research that is directly related to that, whereas U of T does not have that. A PI that I worked with for my summer internship also has connections to some researchers there through a collaborator, and they are definitely participating in research that I am profoundly interested in (which is the role of stress circuitry in contributing to psychiatric illness). I feel as if this would be a great option for me since I am on the fence about if I enjoy research enough to consider a PhD, and if I were to go the medical school route I would likely pursue psychiatry.

U of T does have a research group that is also dedicated to understanding stress circuitry, but it's not based at their main campus and I have minimal experience with the other campuses. The program I am most interested in is the pharmacology program, which is more in line with the work that I have been exposed to given my research experience. The physiology program also looks interesting as well since my undergraduate research fits well into this category.

I know I have kept this brief but I would be happy to provide more info if anyone can help.

12 minutes ago, dandelion8 said: