I graduated with my undergrad in Speech & Hearing Science from University at Buffalo last Fall (a semester early). I applied to schools last Spring & didn't get in to any (only applied to NY schools in the Long Island/NYC area). I know that I should broaden my horizon, especially since I have lower stats (GPA: 3.3 Major GPA: 3.1 GRE: VR-148, QR- 146, Writing- 3.5), but I don't really know what my next step should be other than to obviously retake my GRE. I retook a Acoustics course online with Utah State this fall because I got a C+ (my lowest grade in my major during undergrad) so I thought that would show effort, but what else is there to do?

I have been considering to going into Special Education, specifically because I have worked as a Head Start teacher and a teaching assistant in an elementary school within the past year, if speech doesn't work out. However I don't even know where to begin with finding schools for me or receiving LORs so late in the application season.

If anyone has any suggestions or been through this situation please help me out.

If SLP is what you decide you really want, I believe you can get into a program. I say this because of seeing other applicants on this forum with your stats or lower getting into programs. However, because of your stats I think you will have to do a lot of research and be very flexible with where you attend (e.g., apply to schools in areas with less-competitive programs, like the south or midwest). Connecting with administrators/professors at schools you are interested in would also be smart. If your last 60 credit GPA is higher overall, apply to schools that focus on that.

My concern is your timeline. You certainly could apply to schools this cycle, but I am not sure if it would be fruitful with such limited time to research and contact schools. Hopefully someone else with similar stats who has applied before can give you better advice here. I also have a low cumulative GPA, but this is my first time applying.