Statement of Purpose for Speech-Language Pathology Grad School

Hey everyone

So, I'm currently an undergraduate in a Communicative Disorders and Sciences program applying for grad school. I have a problem and that is that I don't have a lot of experience outside of school that are SLP-related. I originally was going towards a degree in Accounting, but certain things happened with my family and an illness, and I decided to drop out of business school but realized that I really wanted to be an SLP instead. So here I am, about to finish undergrad and wanting to get into grad school, but I don't have anything really to show on my resume or an experience I can really talk about in my essay.

Consequently, I've decided that perhaps I should write about the fact that I haven't had much experience because of certain things that happened during business school, to perhaps show to the undergraduate admissions of wherever I'm deciding to go why I haven't had as many experiences as my peers.

Do any of you think this is a good idea? Or does anyone happen to have any other suggestions? ):

Thanks !!

• 4 weeks later...

I suggest getting some experience! SLP graduate school is highly competitive, and while it's not impossible to switch gears from a different major, you need to demonstrate that you are really interested. Schools want to know you're serious. Try volunteering, or getting a job in the field or a related field. A far as your business degree, I would talk about how that will help you in your future goals; leadership, entrepreneurship in private practice, etc. Best of luck!