Dealing with Funding Rejection

Juniormints_please

Hey y'all,

I spent 5-6 months preparing my grad school applications and funding applications to the Marshall & Gates Cambridge Scholarships. I am applying to UK universities since they have better Masters programs & faculties for my specific field of study. Funding will be key to my decision to pursue postgraduate studies in the UK in the next academic year.

I had been holding out crazy hope for the Marshall & Gates Cambridge scholarships - at least an invitation to an interview. I'm a Fulbright Research Student Grantee 2015-16 and have held various internships, worked my way through my undergrad, wrote strong statements that were reviewed by my fellowship advisor, and had great recommenders. But alas, I did not receive an invitation to interview for either.

It's really put me in a tailspin - literally, what/who makes the cut for these scholarships? It's been difficult to accept the fact I do not belong in this upper echelon of academics (narcissistic? conceited? deluded? Most likely) and it's been even more difficult for me to be motivated enough to continue to hunt for and apply for funding... but if I don't, the prospect of crushing student debt will keep me from getting my dream education.

Just looking for some fellow applicants to commiserate with - and any tips to keep my head up after all the rejection.

33 minutes ago, Juniormints_please said:

It's really put me in a tailspin - literally, what/who makes the cut for these scholarships? It's been difficult to accept the fact I do not belong in this upper echelon of academics (narcissistic? conceited? deluded? Most likely) and it's been even more difficult for me to be motivated enough to continue to hunt for and apply for funding... but if I don't, the prospect of crushing student debt will keep me from getting my dream education.