HSS interview at Penn

jazzman

Thanks! It's rare in History of Science to get an in-person interview, I think UPenn is the only one that conducts them. I was hoping to maybe come across others who've gotten a Upenn interview, either in this cycle or previous ones. But apparently not many HOS students frequent gradcafe. Where are you at, if you don't mind me asking?

Hi jazzman! First time posting on GradCafe (but I am a frequent lurker) and have also been asked to interview for Penn HSS. I've interview for one other PhD program this cycle, but it's my first time applying so don't really know much about the process either! 

I applied to Penn, Yale, Brown, Princeton, Columbia and NYU. Congrats on the JH interview, I heard JH is very competitive. Although the same is probably true for all of these unis. I may also apply to UofT, deadlines not for another week or so. Haven't made up my mind. 

What Canadian uni are you at now? 

I got an email recently from the coordinator at Penn, confirming my interview date and promising to send more info soon... you? 

Nice ! And thank you! They actually have you visit in the fall term before you apply. Yeah I think they're all quite competitive but it has definitely been a slight relief to have made it to the interview stage. Do any of the other schools you're applying to interview? 

And I'm at McGill! Whereabouts are you? 

Yes I got the same! 

I thought I'd just poke my head in here and say that I'm another HoS person that floats around. I think @nevermind and myself are the only recently active students. 

Unfortunately, I did not apply to UPenn last year, so I don't really know how their procedures play out. But I wanted to wish you good luck, all the same. So, good luck. :) 

23 hours ago, Neist said:

I thought I'd just poke my head in here and say that I'm another HoS person that floats around. I think @nevermind and myself are the only recently active students.