How do I stack up with other engineering graduate school applicants?

Transcending

Hi everyone, 

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I'm wondering how I stack up against other applicants to an engineering grad school program. 

Current programs I'm looking at include petroleum engineering masters at Penn State or University of Texas at Austin (or other relevant schools in Texas). Other engineering programs I am looking to consider, such as nuclear engineering, but I am unsure of what schools to apply to yet. 

I am a senior graduating from a top public state university in New York with a 3.3 GPA. I am studying BS Mathematical Sciences with a minor in Education. I plan on taking the GRE sometime within this Spring 2017 semester. I am hoping to receive a 165 (hopefully higher) out of 170 on the quantitative section. My verbal wont be nearly as good but I will strive to get a 155 or higher. My writing is good so I'm hoping to receive a 5+. 

My resume includes 4 years of retail experience, an internship at an insurance company, and plenty extracurricular clubs at my university.

Please give me any feedback, suggestions on schools/programs to consider, or any other relevant information regarding what schools I can get into (or how I stack up to the applicant pool for other prospective graduate engineering students).

Thank you,

Transcending

First question is: Masters or PhD? Typically a masters program will have *slightly* lower admission standards from what I understand, which will influence your chances. A 3.3 GPA might be about average (or only slightly below) for many masters programs, but will be fairly far below for PhD programs from what I understand. 

As for GRE scores, if you get your predicted scores, the Quant should be pretty good, but the Verbal will be a bit low - should shoot for at least 157-160. Although a low Verbal won't ruin your chances, it can't hurt to improve it.