How does taking multiple years between undergrad and applying to grad school affect admission chances?

hkcool

I graduated in 2014, and immediately after, spent the summer doing an internship at a national lab. I had applied for a research fellowship through my home university and received funding to conduct an independent research project in a foreign country in 2015. So between the end of my internship and March of 2015, I took some time to travel and go backpacking. For 6 months in 2015, I did research in Europe with a well-regarded professor in my subfield (who wrote me a rec letter for my application this year), although I don't have any publication to show for it, he was impressed with my work.

My plan after that was to apply for the Fulbright scholarship, but unfortunately I didn't receive it. I hadn't applied to grad school concurrently, and wasn't sure what to do with after the rejection. For the entirety of 2016 (to present), I worked full-time in a field that is completely unrelated to what I want to study in grad school (which is a STEM field, and my job right now is non-STEM). This is listed on my resume/CV since I think it would be worse to omit it and make it seem like I was doing nothing last year.

My question is how much this gap hurts me in the admissions process. I think I can point to things (mostly research experience) in 2014 and 2015 that very positively add to my application, but compared to people that are applying right out of undergrad, I'm a bit old and don't have a lot of the material fresh in my head. I had good grades in undergrad and lots of research experience + a first author publication, but I'm not sure if that has as much of an impact since so much time has passed