Dear members of theGradCafe,

I am a PhD student who is in need of a wonderful writing tutor.

I've searched all the forums listed on this website whose postings are related to the writing improvement, but besides the suggestions, like "write more to get better," I failed to find information about hiring a writing tutor as a way to improve writing. I know hiring a tutor is the most expensive way to improve your writing, yet I believe it is a relatively less risky method of improving my writing skills than the method of writing and reviewing my own paper over and over without feedbacks. I am happy to pay for the tutor if he/she can improve my writing.

Can anyone recommend a great writing tutor for me? (I live in Pittsburgh, but ONLINE tutor would be just fine as well)

@rising_star  Yes, I feared that my request might be too vague. Sorry about that. It is vague may be because I, too, am NOT sure how to tackle the problem of improving my general writing skills...

My university has a writing center, but it is very hard to schedule a lesson. So, I was just wondering if someone here had a similar problem and may be able to share their success story about getting better at writing in general...