Calling faculty by first name

Staring phd in political science this fall. As an undergrad, I've addressed every professor I've ever spoken with as "Dr." or "Professor". At my undergrad department (and it seems like most other places as well?) the grad students call the professors by their first names.

When do you make this transition? Presumably not at visitation weekend...?

It's better to be overly respectful instead of not respectful enough, so I tend to air on the side of formality until I get an invitation to be more casual. Most professors will state early on "call me [first name]" if they're comfortable with it. Sometimes they'll just introduce themselves with their first name, which I take as an invite to call them as such - especially if they introduce themselves individually or to a small group - but some people will continue to address them with "Professor/Dr. [Last Name]" until they get an explicit invitation. If there's any ambiguity, you can always ask.

In my field, we basically make this transition once we start working with the professor as a colleague. So, in many case, undergrads working in the group will call the professor by first name (but not other profs in the department unless asked to). Most profs will introduce themselves as just [First Name] on the first day of class (undergrad classes too).

I agree with the advice to wait until they introduce themselves by first name or ask you to call them by their first name. When you walk into their office, you can introduce yourself, "Hi, I am [First Name].". If they say "Welcome, I'm [First Name]" then you can use their first name. (Note: the reverse isn't necessarily true though, that is, if they want you to call them by Dr or Prof, they probably won't introduce themselves as Dr. or Prof X, so if they don't say their own name in their response, it's still unknown).