FLAS 2017

BeeKayCee

Hello all,

I'm a prospective Masters student in Theology and Middle Eastern Studies, focusing on Islam and Arabic.

First of all, how many people are applying for the FLAS? What kind of information did you put in your statements? I felt that it was really difficult to fit everything I needed to say into 1 page.

Second, a question:

Does anyone know if FLAS committees have access to applications for individual schools? I asked two schools, Harvard said that their FLAS was a separate committee and therefore did not see apps, but Columbia hasn't responded yet. Does anyone know, is the process the same across the board in general or does each school have their own FLAS process?

Good luck everyone! 

B

• 2 weeks later...

Hi!

Ok, so after being away from this site for months, I decided to answer (well, contribute) to this question. I'm a second year Master's student, and I applied for the Summer FLAS scholarship for Arabic. I have somewhat high hopes of being selected. *Fingers crossed* 

My Credentials

-Completed a one-month Intensive Arabic program in the Middle East (Oman) this winter. It was my first time living in the Middle East. I'm also most interested in the Gulf region, and this gave a gist of cultural exposure within that part of the Middle East. I also included all of this in my Statement of Purpose.

-Recommendation letter from a Middle East Studies graduate professor/former government agent who works at the Institute that selects the FLAS awardees. 

-Having a study abroad experience (Non-Middle East) while in grad school

-Aiming to work for the government after graduation (FLAS at my school prioritizes this)

-Being a graduate student (FLAS at my school prioritizes this as well)

I don't know about your second question though, but my school selects its winners on March 17. I will hopefully post back on here if selected. Good luck to you, by the way.

Edited by Guest