Quality of Public Policy PhD Programs

I just found out I was admitted to a public policy PhD program (at a large, respected state university). It's the only PhD program I applied for because it's the only one I could find that seemed interested in applicants without a masters or research experience (I'm in my third year teaching high school since undergrad). The other programs I applied to are mostly MPPs: KSG MPP, WWS MPA, SAIS MA, Duke MPP, GPPI MPP, UMaryland MPP, American Econ MA.

I still have a couple months until I get my other decisions, but I want to start evaluating this PhD option. It seems pretty good for the following reasons:

- It will probably be funded and carry a stipend.

- My would-be adviser is awesome. Basically I'd be studying social policy (focusing on education) in developing countries.

- The curriculum looks good, there are small classes, and there are no masters students in this department.

- Profiles of current and past students seem pretty impressive. Several have masters degrees from WWS and other similar programs.

- The degree would give me a leg up in gov't / NGO / IO / think tank jobs, plus the option of academia.

I have my doubts because:

- Public Policy PhDs seem somewhat limiting in that you will always be equaled or trumped by Poli Sci or Econ PhDs, especially in academia.

- I cannot get a feel for the reputation of this program. It's not in the US News rankings (maybe because there's no master's program?).

- I have some doubts about placements after the program. Some have gone to World Bank, good academic jobs and various interesting research jobs, but others have nothing listed since their graduation. On this I can try to find out more from the school though.

What do you think? Should this PhD trump all masters options? How can I find out more about the reputation of the program? Thanks!