How are the political science programs at UC Santa Cruz and Penn State

ArnoldNasson

Hi you guys. I'm an international student, applying for PhDs in political science. I have been rejected by many of top choices, and what I have now are UC Santa Crutz and Penn State. Both are PhDs. Regardless of their positions, living expenses, can anyone please give me some comments on these two departments. As I said at the begining, I'm an international student who don't know much of these two programs. I browsed their websites and it seems like Penn State was quite a quantitative-centered department, but UCSC did not provide much information. UC system is much more famous in my country, but Penn State seems better in PoliSci. I applied to these programs because my professor recommended strongly, and there is a very possibility that these will be my only offers. So, could anyone please tell me more about them and which offer should I take? 

Thanks very much and wish all you guys good luck with you application. 

What are your interests? How do these institutions rank in relation to your interests? Is there faculty at either institutions that have overlapping interests? How strong is the overlap? What is their placement record? These questions can be answered by simply going onto the department website and doing basic homework.

Also, I'm told that campus visits are highly informative. You should go to those. 

Edited by correlatesoftheory
Spelling

1 hour ago, correlatesoftheory said:

What are your interests? How do these institutions rank in relation to your interests? Is there faculty at either institutions that have overlapping interests? How strong is the overlap? What is their placement record? These questions can be answered by simply going onto the department website and doing basic homework.

Also, I'm told that campus visits are highly informative. You should go to those.