PhD at average Grad School: What's even the point?

Eshtah

I don't want to come across as arrogant or anything. I am just really wondering if it's worth attending an "average" Grad School if my plan is to go for a career in academia. I am an international student and have chosen to apply in the US because of my relationship but also because I hoped to improve my career chances by attending one of the great universities like Columbia, Princeton, Harvard etc. I have not heard back anything yet and I know that doesn't mean anything at this point (except at Columbia; they apparently have already sent out their admission letters and I didn't get one). I was lucky enough, however, to be accepted at one school already.

While I am waiting to hear back from other universities, I am trying to evaluate if I would really like to go there. It's not a perfect fit when it comes to expertise in my field but I will definitely learn something. I received a fellowship for the first year and would teach the rest of the time. 

What do you think? How does it work in the US? Will I only have a shot at an academic career if I have a PhD from one of the top ones or can I work my way up by kicking a...?

I would value any advice!

Just because they don't have a big name doesn't mean they don't have a great program! I'm sure you selected schools for application that have great programs in your field. Maybe the ivy leagues look more impressive at first glance at a resume, but I wouldn't let that deter you if this is something you really want to do. A PhD is a PhD. 

A couple thoughts: first, I'm not sure what you mean by "average." But I would check into their job placement data and see if students are getting jobs at the kind of places you want to end up.