Out of field applicant degrees: social work, linguistics, other?

Hi everyone!

I'm currently a social work major with plans to go into grad school for SLP. If all goes as planned, I'll have 6 SLP pre-reqs completed by graduation as well. Lately, I've been feeling really out of place in my social work classes. Fortunately, I am only a sophomore credit wise and still have the option of changing my major to something else. I've been considering linguistics an awful lot because of its relation to speech therapy. I also have found through my research that it is one of the most common out of field applicant majors for SLP programs, along with psychology (please don't suggest psychology because no-no-no-no-no I can't nope-nope-nope bye.)

Seems like an easy choice, right! Wrong. I'm capable of making a can with a pull tab difficult to open. Overall, I personally have found my social work classes to be very easy content wise. I understand that linguistics classes may be more demanding and content heavy with lots of memorization and phonetic-y fricative-y stuff, which I don't mind at all! But if social work is easier for me, should I pursue it in the interest of possibly obtaining a higher GPA since the graduate process is ultimately a game of numbers? In terms of graduate admissions, would majoring in linguistics look better on a transcript, or does it not matter at all what your major is if it's not CSD? Any suggestions besides these two you think would be a better fit? Etc. etc. etc. etc. why do I always have to make these posts so long

Thanks!

I once had a PhD candidate said if you were anything other than speech, a science-y major looks good. She said it's because speech people sometimes shy away from science.

I haven't found that to be the case at all. Honestly, only GPA seems to matter. I was a, wait for it, Neuroscience and Cognitive Science major with an emphasis in language and communication sciences.