Blacksburg, VA

moneke

• 11 months later...

Just accepted to a PhD at VT. But I am an international and know nothing about the place. How is Blacksburg to pursue a PhD? How about the weather there? If I won't have a car, where can I find cheap and safe housing? Anything about post-graduate job opportunities? Thanks...

not sure about pursuing how pursuing a PHD is at VT, but i was an undergrad there and can tell you that finding cheap and safe housing is extremely easy. The city is filled to the brim with cheap, and close housing. Pretty much the entire city is students, and since the campus is really only equipped to house maybe 5000-6000 students that means the other 20,000 of us had to find housing in blacksburg. You've got loads of different apartment complexs there all on the bus route. The weather is pretty good, you're going to get all the seasons. During the winter it can get cold and windy, but nothing too absurd. You will get some snow, but nothing that isn't manageable and the summers are hot, but not unbearable. Blacksburg really is a great college city i'm sure you will love it.

not sure about pursuing how pursuing a PHD is at VT, but i was an undergrad there and can tell you that finding cheap and safe housing is extremely easy. The city is filled to the brim with cheap, and close housing. Pretty much the entire city is students, and since the campus is really only equipped to house maybe 5000-6000 students that means the other 20,000 of us had to find housing in blacksburg. You've got loads of different apartment complexs there all on the bus route. The weather is pretty good, you're going to get all the seasons. During the winter it can get cold and windy, but nothing too absurd. You will get some snow, but nothing that isn't manageable and the summers are hot, but not unbearable. Blacksburg really is a great college city i'm sure you will love it.