Getting Research Experience Before Applying for Graduate School

Jbunker91

So I graduated with my BS in molecular biology in 2013 and neglected to get involved with any undergraduate research. Since then I've been working as a laboratory services technician for the past 3 years and I've decided I want to go to graduate school and pursue a career in research. I've applied to 3 masters programs and I haven't heard a decision from any of them yet. I'm not freaking out about it yet, but I realize how important research experience so I recognize that my high GPA, high GRE scores, and strong letters of recommendation may not be enough to offset my lack of research experience for all 3 applications. I want to have a fall back plan in case that happens, that would allow me to get research experience so that my graduate school applications are more competitive next year. The problem is, at my current job I don't play a significant enough role in the lab to really consider what I do actual research experience, and I've struggled to get a job where I would be getting research experience. Is it possible for me to go back to the school I graduated from and do research after having earned my degree there? What would be the best course of action to get research experience before next year? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

You could try to see if there are any lab positions available at your school by reaching out to professors. It might not be as easy since you're a few years removed from college, but your technician experience is a plus.

You could do a postbac, it's full time research experience. Depends on the program, I think for the NIH you can only be two years removed from your undergrad, but you should look around that may not be the case everywhere.

4 hours ago, seventwo said: