Sociology Resources

speechfan222

Does anyone know where I can find resources or any information about careers and job opportunities for someone with a Masters degree in Sociology? I am new to this field and have a small idea of what I would like to do once I graduate, but would like more information. I looked over the ASA website which isn't too helpful. I also did a google search to try and find more information for graduate students with an MA/MS in Sociology, but am not finding any helpful information.

If anyone knows where I can find more information or who/what to contact, please let me know. Thank you!

26 minutes ago, speechfan222 said:

Does anyone know where I can find resources or any information about careers and job opportunities for someone with a Masters degree in Sociology? I am new to this field and have a small idea of what I would like to do once I graduate, but would like more information. I looked over the ASA website which isn't too helpful. I also did a google search to try and find more information for graduate students with an MA/MS in Sociology, but am not finding any helpful information.

If anyone knows where I can find more information or who/what to contact, please let me know. Thank you!

I was told by my advisor that there's a good amount of money in designing surveys for companies to conduct, if you'd like to go down that road. 

4 hours ago, bradley610 said:

If you're a quant person then doing research in a variety of sectors is an option. Teaching at the community college level is possible, but competitive. A lot of people with sociology degrees are involved with nonprofit groups of some kind.

Thanks for this information. I figured individuals with a Masters in Sociology would teach at a university level (positions that don't require doctorates), but I suppose community college is an option too. Hmmm. 

10 minutes ago, bradley610 said: