Summer Internship Conflict with Advisor

Anathem

I am a first-year PhD student.  Ever since last September or so, I imaged to get in contact with a very well-known scientist who has his own wiki and books and whatnot.  We have been regularly communicating back and forth since then.  Meanwhile, my academic advisor (who is also new) informed me several months ago that she would be totally fine with me doing a summer internship position.  Now, just a few days ago, the scientist informed me that I can work (paid) for this company -- this was very exciting news to me, as this is exactly the type of work I would want to do after I graduate (although it is not really related to the research I do now).

I very eagerly tell my advisor the good news... and she says she has made a mistake and that I cannot work over the summer -- instead I must continue with research and work on my proposition.  This is devastating to me because this internship is so important; it's not like I can just "apply" again next year -- it's something that I had to do by keeping in contact with the CEO for several months.  I don't think my advisor understands what this means to me.  Also, until I mentioned the opportunity, she never told me about her new info that she doesn't want me working over the summer.  Hell, she even wrote me a letter of recommendation for a similar company about a month ago.  This whole situation just really aggravates me (although aside from it, my advisor has been great so far).  One of the worst parts of this conflict is that none of my peers seem to understand what this means to me, and the general consensus among them is that if my advisor says "jump" my response should be "how high?"...  (Personally I would drop the PhD altogether in a heartbeat and work for the company at hand if I could, but I don't think that could happen, and it's rare enough for this CEO to let me work under him.)

Hopefully this is the right area to ask this.. I do appreciate all your advice.