How do you choose the order of names for publications?

meep95

I have a project I am presenting at a conference soon, and for that conference I am first author, and I have two more partners as well.  Since this is technically an independent project, my advisor said not to list him.  I am curious though, since we are planning to try and publish this in the future, would my advisor then become first author? Or is that more on a case by case basis of what is decided within the research team.  I haven't actually published before since I am an undergrad, so this is unfamiliar territory.

It depends, norms change by (sub)field so we can't give you a sweeping answer. Often, the person who did the majority of the work will be first (often: this will be a student or postdoc); the advisor or PI will be last, and others will be in the middle, depending on how much they contributed. In other fields, you go strictly alphabetically. In some fields, the advisor is a co-author on all of their students' work, in others not. The authorship question is often a delicate and complicated one, but I suggest that you bring it up early, before you commit to doing the work. Simply ask your advisor how he expects to determine authorship on the project, and specifically if you will be first. I think that's entirely fair, and you might even want to have it in writing (as in, after the meeting you send him an email saying "just to confirm what we said in the meeting, here is what I understood: [blah]"), so there aren't any misunderstandings later.