TT position vs industry job

escalation

I am a final-year PhD student at a decent, but not stellar, university in Europe. My field is strategy and innovation management. I don't know what kind of career I would like to pursue.

I entered my PhD full of gratitude for being accepted, considering that my previous studies were rather unfocused and would not have gotten me into many PhD programs, let alone elite ones. I have always been a good student and a very quick learner, but I never received much guidance about what education I should strive for, and which programs I should apply to. I kind of drifted between small research projects, internships, and volunteer work, trying to figure out what I should do next in order to feel one step closer to the life I thought I wanted. Among other things, I was completely oblivious to the reputational mechanisms and self-reinforcing privileges inherent in academia, which are now taking a toll on me because I am not at a top institution, yet I compete with people who are, and I cannot count on supervisors who are very knowledgeable in my topic, or have a vast and useful network, yet I compete with people who do.