Funding: How much is left after taxes etc?

Eshtah

Hey guys,

I am an international student who will be coming to the US this fall for a PhD in the Humanities and I need help understanding the offers I am receiving. Most of all: How much money will I actually have after taxes etc.? If Georgetown offers me 28000 for 8 months, what is the net value that I will have in my bank account? 

I will speak to the director of my program again next week. Do you think I can ask about that?

Thanks a bunch for any insight!

In the US, taxes are all very dependent on your personal situation so it is hard for someone who isn't in a similar situation as you (e.g. your program director) to be able to answer that question. Don't ask this to your program director.

Instead, look at this Wikipedia article: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Income_tax_in_the_United_States 

A few key things to keep in mind:

1. You have to pay federal tax as well as state tax. There may also be tax for your specific city.

2. If you are not a resident alien for tax purposes (if this is your first time in the US then you will not be a resident alien), you cannot claim the standard deduction mentioned in the Wiki article. You can only claim the personal exemption of around $4,000. Therefore, you will be taxed on $24,000 of income.

3. On average, a grad student earning $25k-$30k per year will be taxed at a rate around 12%. But a lot of things depend on what state you live in, whether your home country has a tax treaty with the US and whether you support dependents (but your spouse, if you have one, won't count). Safe thing to do is to budget 15% for taxes and treat the money returned each year as a bonus.

@Eshtah regarding the tax treaty that @TakeruK mentions - if you google "France US tax treaty" for example, you should easily be able to find if your country has a treaty or not. If it does, it should also have information about what you are exempt from.