Dropped out years ago

wgropius

Hello everyone,

I'm a graduate student in art history from France and I'm considering doing a PhD in the US.

I have very good grades - in a top ranked school, published articles, did some colloquium, and I'll spent some months in the UK to improve my english.

But... years ago, I started a first BA in an other subject, dropped out after three years with horrible marks. After that, I did another BA and now I'm finishing a MA.

Should I include the transcripts of this first college experience, or can I avoid it ?

Thanks in advance !

Honestly, I would consider this a situation where you can reach out to the schools admissions staff and ask. You wouldn't want to not include it and have them consider it lying if they found it later, but they might not care/want the information. I wouldn't think it would hurt you as a candidate though if it was included because there would obviously be growth. 

Take a close look at the application requirements.
If it states 'all schools' then send them all schools (including the one you would like to forget), if it states 'schools where a degree was granted', then only include that one, and your current one (since you are expecting a degree from them).

Everywhere I applied required that all transcripts be sent. I was similarly stressed mostly because I started off somewhere, my grades were less than stellar, and then I transferred from a four year school to a two year school, earned an associates degree, and then transferred again to a different four year school to earn a BA in a field totally unrelated to the one I was studying when I first started school. When all was said and done, I had a transcript from two years spent at a state school with no degree awarded, two associates degrees from a community college, and a BA from another state school .