So, here's the situation. I got an undergraduate degree in Philosophy and English and, after working for a presidential campaign, decided to apply for a PhD in Political Science with a focus on Public Policy. It turned out to be a bad idea as I got rejected from 6 of the 7 programs I applied to (all T10s except for Georgetown which I assume to also end up being a rejection because of lack of hearing anything from them this late in the game). On the other hand, I applied to one PhD program in Philosophy (it was a second choice option included on my Political Science PhD application to the same school. Still under review) and one MA program at Columbia (to which I have been accepted). I already have two acceptance letters from last year with the option to defer in Philosophy from two U.K. Institutions- UCL and Oxford. I'm just not sure what I should do. Should I get the MA in Political Science from Columbia? I'm generally very debt averse, but I worry that the only way that I can move into a more political direction is if I get the MA degree. On the other hand, if I get accepted to the Philosophy PhD, I am more than certain that I would go because I'm beginning to take this cycle as an omen. Maybe I'm a Philosopher and should have just stuck with that in the first place? I don't know... is it worth going into debt if that means I probably may still be unable to get into a Political Science PhD program in the long run?

Edited by Jazahmia

I have a friend who finished Columbia's MA program last year. She's been applying to places for the last two cycle. Didn't get into somewhere unfortunately. I know her personally, she is ambitious and I believed that she had a great potential to be an exceptional political scientist, but she couldn't get into the programs that are not T10. Therefore, Columbia's MA might not be very cost efficient.