Qualifier second time

Hello all,

I'm in my third year of PhD program and completed my coursework last semester. Our qualifier has two parts, written from individual committee member followed by oral in front of all committee.

At December'16, I was told by committee that I need to work more on written part and then could give oral exam. Out of five, three have assignment as lit. reviews, one wants me to write a grant proposal and other one has open book, question and answer test.

Two weeks ago, I submitted my question and answer test (second time) to respective member. Last week, he gave corrected test back to my major advisor. My major advisor told me, he's not happy with my answers and going to fail me. I scored 49% on that test. I was not even aware that he's going to grade this test and how much was grading for each question and what was passing cut off. He did not grade my first test. When I meet him after first test, we went through some question but he didn't tell me anything about grading. When I asked my major advisor, can I contact that member and ask for third test, I was told I don't have time for the same and should work on remaining member's test. My major advisor told me, qualifier does not has to be unanimous decision, and now I have to work on remaining four members' written part very well and my window is getting narrow. I'm planning to complete my written of next 4 members in next 2 months and give oral in month of May.

I was completely freaking out and could not breath well. Now calming my nerves and trying figure out next best steps for me. Have I lost my position in program already? Could any one tell me how could I cope with this situation and pull this off?

Thanks. 

samstrong123@gmail.com

Edited by samstrong123

16 minutes ago, samstrong123 said:

Could any one tell me how could I cope with this situation and pull this off?