What makes a strong English PhD application?

How do I make myself the most competitive English PhD candidate possible?

I'm currently pursuing an MFA, but I'm considering getting my PhD in either Lit or Rhet/Comp in order to better my job prospects. Of course, all the writing I've been doing for the past two years has been creative, and I only have poetry publications to my name. 

I plan to take off a few years between the MFA and the (potential) PhD. What could I do in that time to improve my application? Publish scholarly papers? Audit a literature class?

Hi Hazel!

I'm in a similar boat. I have an MFA in poetry and was just admitted into a PhD program in literature with a full fellowship. Honestly, I was surprised they took me! I had all sorts of impostor syndrome as I was prepping my application. I hadn't published anything scholarly beyond a handful of academic book reviews. 

I've been a lecturer for a good number of years and have a strong background in and understanding of pedagogy, so maybe that helped. I also have a lot of creative publications (two poetry collections, another forthcoming), and in my SOP, I made a case as to how this was connected to the kind of scholarly work I want to do. My area of interest is gender studies, and my poetry is fiercely feminist. I think being able to articulate that connection made a big difference, but who knows. 

When I spoke to the grad director on the phone about my offer, she seemed to know a lot about my creative CV, so clearly she looked at it.

I have pretty mediocre GRE scores at best.

I  also audited a few lit classes where I teach. I wrote a term paper for one of them and got feedback from a few colleagues, which I used as my writing sample. I don't think it was particularly great, but hey, it worked.