Tech seeking advice for improving application

mejkor

I graduated with a BA in 2016 and started a research tech job a month later. I'm planning on applying to PhD programs this year (2 year tech job) and I was wondering what advice people have for what I can do to strengthen my application before December.

I'm hoping to have a paper at least in submission by the time that I apply but the postdoc I was working with left to start her own lab and I'm working on the project alone. I'm worried that the project won't be far along enough come December to have a paper or present a poster. What other things should I be doing?

I think it looks great if you can show that you have participated in outreach. A lot of schools will have diversity statements, so if you don't fall into an underrepresented group yourself, you can talk about how you helped underrepresented groups by being involved with a scientific outreach activity.

Try to present your research.  It doesn't need to be a big national conference.  A symposium/poster session at your university is good enough.  Showing that you can present your research usually means you have a certain level of understanding of your project and looks good to adcoms.

I think it's hard to say things to improve on or add since you didn't really post your stats or what you have already done.

Coming from a former tech: