Fall 2018 Hopeful... look at my CV and tell me what you think

starburst

Hi all, I'm in the process of narrowing down a realistic list of schools to apply to clinical programs for Fall 2018. I am open to both PhD and PsyD, but tend toward PhD because I don't know if I have the financial means to pay out of pocket/take a loan for PsyD.

I graduated magna cum laude from Rutgers University with a BA in Psychology, GPA 3.7 overall; 3.89 in psychology; psych GRE 740 and i am taking the general GRE at the beginning of May. i did some neuroscience research w/ zebra finches for a year but did not produce anything. lots of leadership positions within the honors programs, and worked at Bayer Pharmaceuticals for a year while attending school (originally wanted to go to med school).

Here's what I've been up to during my post-bac period (2 years)

-care manager in the dept of psychiatry at a major hospital

-clinical research asst at a youth a/d clinic; i do diagnostic intake and post assessments (ADIS/CDRS), serve as confederates for exposures, oversee the undergrad RAs, and lots of research; recently submitted my first poster to ABCT

-TAed for a semester in quantitative methods in psychology

i'm primarily interested in anxiety and depression treatments. training wise i am fine with cbt/dynamically mixed schools, want to just get the most of my experience before going off to externships/internships. 

What are your questions/impressions on these experiences overall? What would you recommend for me to get into a top program? 

I'd say you have a pretty strong application assuming your General GRE scores turn out well. Do you have any pubs or poster presentations at conferences? That would be beneficial and show your commitment to research vs just clinical work.