How to Present Yourself (Superficially)

melaniejane

To my surprise, I apparently have choices. That being said, I have been invited to a few admitted students days. However, I am at a complete loss on how to present myself. I am not so much worried about personality and articulation, rather superficial things i.e. what to wear, how to style my hair, etc.

I know that I've already been admitted, but this is particularly important to me as I have not had any interviews, and my main priority on these visits is to get a feel for how likely it would be that my POI will be my supervisor/sit on my committee [long story short, I'm a first-gen student and did everything wrong, so I've had 0 contact with potential advisers and have no idea what's going to happen or who I will be working with.] Basically, I want to make a good first impression, especially since I will probably be the youngest student in my cohort. 

Some info about me: Female, busty, and ... I have purple and red hair. 

I usually wear blacks and grays, and always wear leggings unless I'm giving presentations, attending meetings/conferences, etc. I'm coming from a not-so-great undergrad university and my first visit will be to a tier 1 (my top choice). I'm used to most professors and students wearing t-shirts and jeans, even at the grad level. 

Main concerns: Do I need to dye my hair a neutral color? Should I wear makeup (obviously not overdone)? Will I be okay wearing leggings, if I pair them with boots, blouses, and long cardigans, or should I opt for skinny slacks with blouses and blazers? 

It should be about 40-50 degrees during the day. I don't want to be overdressed, nor undressed. If someone could please offer some advice I would greatly appreciate!

P.S. Sorry for the long post!