As a sophomore in undergrad, what can I do now to be best set on the path to grad school?

UtahHistoryBuff

Greetings everyone!

As the title indicates, I am a sophomore history major. I have my heart firmly set on attending grad school and producing work and research in the field of history. Honestly, my interests are wide as far as occupations are concerned, but one thing stands true, they all require some level of post-graduate education (academia/research, think tanks, etc.)

As it stands now, I have a 3.7 GPA. and am on track to graduate by or possibly before Spring 2019.

I have a few concerns about graduate school, obviously history graduate programs in particular.

How much weight is given to your undergraduate institution given? This is something of concern to me. Although I love my university, have made great relations with professors, and have been truly intellectually challenged given the small class sizes, the truth of the matter is my universities name simply doesn't carry the same weight as even bigger schools in the state, let alone region or country.

How important is being published as an undergrad? Do I need to go through this with a professor, or is it something I can seek out on my own?

What could I/should I be doing to build a solid resume? I'm doing well academically, but I'm just thinking about when I apply to grad school in the future I'll only have a GPA, GRE, modest LORs, etc. to throw at them. In other words, nothing to really separate me from the pack. I'm honestly stressing out compared to all my fellow history majors applying for law school who only really need to focus on having a killer GPA and LSAT. No easy task, but identifiable numbers nonetheless. Grad school, seems so...uncertain.