Berkeley MDP or Columbia SIPA MPA-DP

Greene

Hello guys. I have been debating which to pick over the other. I intend to work with the UN, World Bank or Government desiging and implementing development solutions across the country or region. SIPA is popular for students choosing development track, plus the Ivy thing (Columbia). Berkeley's brand name is way stronger, its top 10.

My concerns are: (1) best training for my career path (2) strong alumni network (3) most likely to secure full (external) funding in Berkeley vs half-tuition in SIPA Columbia.

This is open to the house and any alumni or current student who can share thoughts on this. I appreciate your comments

Edited by Greene

I'm an amateur, but my understanding of Berkeley is that while it's policy school, Goldman, has an elite brand, neither the school nor university are known for their international training.  SIPA, on the other hand, is considered more elite for programs of international relations/development.  Georgetown and Johns Hopkins are also top programs.  Just geographically speaking, even if both programs were equal it would make more sense to study on the east coast for its proximity to Europe.

But take this with salt.  Somebody please correct my inexpert impressions if they're way off.

@3dender thank you. I also got admitted to SAIS, although I place SIPA above SAIS because I feel SIPA will give me an all-round knowledge of development. SAIS seems to be heavily focused on economics. I am now trying to weigh between Berkeley and Columbia since in the next few days I will have to decide if I will choose full ride to Berkeley or go for Columbia and take some loan.

7 hours ago, Greene said: