Where do I start? (applying in the fall of 2017)

Hello, everyone! I'm a bit new to the whole application process for grad school in philosophy and could use some help. I'm finishing up my junior year and I will be graduating in the spring of 2018 so I figured I should get a head start on the application process. I was wondering for people who are in my current position or have experience with the application process if you guys have any recommendations on what I should be focusing on in this timeframe. In other words, are there certain things I should be doing right now to better my application? Any info on the process would help as well. 

A little more info about me: I attend a small liberal arts school in Southern California and I am double majoring in Philosophy and Psychology. I have a 3.7 accumulative GPA (3.9 philosophy; 3.7 in psychology) and I know all my professors in the philosophy department fairly well so I can count on them for letters of rec's. My main interests in philosophy are metaphysical topics such as philosophy of the mind, personal identity, and free will. I started my philosophy degree later than usual because I took an intro class my sophomore year and fell in love with the field. 

Thank's again for any help!

Sounds like you're in a great position to start.

How you apply depends in part on what you want to study, and what your long-term goals will be. What you want to do determines your target schools. I would start gathering data and putting it all in a spreadsheet. Get the Philosophical Gourmet Report rankings overall and in specialty areas, take note of the faculty you're most interested in, their funding packages, and all the details of the application process (deadline, # of LORs, writing sample length, personal statement length, average GREs of admitted applicants, etc). When you see all that is required in the process, you'll have a clearer idea how to steer your next 9 months.