UCB, Umich, Duke, UIUC master of Statistics

Hi, 

I am Esther. My major is statistics and I hope I can enhance my programming and language skills via a master degree.

Also, I hope to learn some data science knowledge.

I am quite glad that I can receive AD from UCB, Umich, Duke and UIUC.

i am now an actuarial analyst with ASA license and hope to find a analyst position (especially in actuarial firm) in US after completing my degree.

I am not really sure which university should I choose.

In my opinion, Umich and Duke are two years duration, so I would have more time to find an internship during summer term.

However, UCB has better location but shorter time. 

All of them contain some data science courses.

I am really appreciate any advice that anyone provide me.

Edited by newstyle27

I got accepted to both UCB and Duke so probably I can offer you more info on these two schools.

I went to Duke's Open House event last weekend and enjoyed it a lot. All the professors are very nice and approachable, and it seems like the department cares a lot about the MSS program, which is kinda unusual comparing to other schools. TA and RA opportunities are plenty, so is opportunity to work with Duke Medical center on health-related projects (the director mentions year-long internship, it seems like the medical center really needs people who can analyze large datasets). The department is very Bayesian-focused, but I don't think it means a lot for employers. The curriculum strikes a great balance between theoretical and applied sides. And of course, two-year duration is always better than one-year.