Canadian with Master's applying for US PhD - expected time to completion and chances of admission

I have a Canadian Master's degree and I'd appreciate if anyone can answer any of my questions.

In Canada, you usually complete your Master's before applying for a PhD, which from what I heard at my Master's institution is expected to be completed in 4 years, but I think sometimes can be done in 3. But in the US, you normally apply for a PhD after your Bachelor's, and I think PhD is expected to take 5.5 to 6 years (in STEM fields) and possibly longer. 

If I already have a Master's which took 2 years to complete, will this shorten the amount of time to complete an American PhD (and if so, by how much) or will it make no difference? I've tried looking for this on universities' websites but I have a hard time finding a good answer - some universities seem to say a few courses can be transferred, some say they can't, and others say it depends on whether they consider the Master's courses to be on par with theirs. But even if transfers are allowed, it seems that I have to petition for the course transfers as a PhD student. Is it possible to find out how much of my Master's can count towards the PhD before accepting the offer or before applying to the school? This also applies for whether my Master's thesis can be counted.

This is important to me as I'm an older applicant and would rather not spend too much time getting the PhD. I know I can't get another Master's along the way if I'm going for a PhD in the same field so I think it's risky I have to spend as much time as Bachelor's applicants without the insurance of getting a MS degree along the way. I'd probably prefer doing a PhD in the US but if it saves time to do it in Canada that would be a factor in my decision. Also, how would it be different if I did a PhD in a different field than my Master's/undergrad major? If anyone knows the situation in other countries such as the UK it would be helpful too.

Also,